Goodbye 2019. It’s Been a Great Year

We have just returned from our sixth, and final, visit of 2019 to our little piece of Spain.

February 2019 saw the culmination of 3 years of stress, anxiety and frustration with the purchase of our finca in Ontinyent, something Deb and I are hugely proud of and, at times, we thought was beyond our reach. But there we were, watching the sunrise over our garden on our first morning of this visit.

Well, the truth of it is, I was outside taking photographs while Deb was snuggled up under a duvet in our bedroom because it is bloody cold.

Tasked with picking our oranges to make into freshly squeezed juice from our trees, I thought I’d get a couple of photo’s of the sunrise. It doesn’t get much better than this.

I can though see this novelty wearing off very quickly. I’m not really a hunter/gatherer, living off the land type. I’m more into hunting through the shelves at Consum and gathering the things into my shopping trolley.

Anyway, it’s been an interesting year of experiences as we try to slowly transform this little property into our future retirement home. When I say future, I mean very near future. As soon as Josh, our son, has graduated and settled into the job of his choice, we are off, permanently closing up our current life in the UK to emerge, butterfly from the pupae like, to a wonderful new life in Spain.

This was our first December visit and we have now experienced all the seasons in Spain, and still haven’t been put off. Where there was sun bathing and lounging around in shorts and t-shirts in June and August, there were now jeans and jumpers with coats.

This cooler weather prompted us to get out and about more this visit. Both Deb and I have very stressful and full-on jobs and we like nothing better than just lounging around reading and listening to music in the privacy of our secluded plot when we are away, but when it’s a bit cooler, and wetter, it pushes you in the direction of getting out and exploring more.

Deb had suggested a visit to Valencia on ‘El Tren’, which she has been threatening me with for the last couple of visits but I had so far managed to avoid for various reasons. Don’t misunderstand me, I love the thought of wandering round Valencia, absorbing the vibrancy, architecture, culture etc. What I don’t want to absorb is somebody else’s hygiene issues by being stuck next to them on public transport. I love my own car and my own personal space and the ability to arrive at a destination at the time of my choosing.

I did though manage to avoid this wonderful experience once again. Result.

Deb said one morning ‘I think we should give the Valencia trip on the train a miss this time.’ I was beside myself with joy at this turn of events but tried not to let it show. ‘But why hun,’ I replied disappointedly while perfectly masking the relief, ‘we were so looking forward to it.’ ‘Because’ she said, ‘I like the idea of taking in what Valencia has to offer when it’s a quieter time of year rather than during the hustle and bustle of Christmas.’ What can I say? All my Christmases had come at once. ‘If that’s what you really want’ I said ‘then I suppose we’ll have to miss out on the experience this time. But what else do you want to do?’

‘I fancy a drive out to Javea,’ Deb said. ‘We can go on market day and have a good wander round the old town and then go down to the seafront.’ ‘Great idea,’ replied, only picking up on one relevant word in that sentence ‘drive.’

We had a splendid day out. Lovely drive down and a wander round the market first with a few little purchases.

Then a wander round the old town, which is fantastic, and we came across the Parroquia de Sant Bertomeu a glorious little church in the middle of the old town. Doors open to all so we had a stroll round admiring the architecture and the nativity scene on display.

While we were at the house we also had a meeting with Julian and Marijse to discuss the remedial works to the landslip we suffered during the Gota Fria in September and that the insurance company had washed it’s hands of. The builders came round later that day to assess the damage and the works to be carried out to reinstate it.

I haven’t got a clue what was decided as my Spanish was even worse than their English, but there were so many sharp intakes of breath, constant shaking of heads and pointing in numerous directions that I can only think the worst when it comes to the cost. We are currently waiting with anticipation for a quote for some sort of work to be carried out to stabilise our garden area.

We also decided to do a little DIY round the house. Well, when I say ‘we decided’ what I mean is Deb decided. To my mind DIY comes a very close second to public transport on my list of things to actively avoid. However, with the unknown cost of works to the garden, I suppose it makes sense to carry out some minor DIY ourselves.

So a trip to Leroy Merlin in Gandia was planned to stock up on black paint for all the window grills and handrails, brushes, sandpaper, wire brush etc. We also doubled this up with a visit to Gandia beach which, out of season, is more like a desert than a beach. I expected to see tumbleweed rolling along the promenade, but it was peaceful and quiet, even if a little chilly.

Back at the ranch, Deb made a start on the window grills following a wire brushing by yours truly. In fact she was on a painting roll. If it looked like it was in the least bit black during its life, and stayed still long enough, then it got a coat of black paint.

Penultimate day of the visit and we decided on a visit to nearby Pou Clar, which is a geologicalcal water feature of descending pools with a walkway and steps at the side so you can follow the progress of the river. It’s a beautiful walk and very quiet at this time if year.

Normally I would end my blog here with a conclusion about our visit and not bore you with the airport experience. However, Deb’s experience in the boarding queue is worthy of mention

We were stood in the queue waiting to board the plane when the female of the couple behind us decided to strike up conversation with Deb. ‘So where’ve you been then? She said as an opener. ‘We’ve been to Ontinyent.’ Deb replied. ‘Oh,’ the lady said, obviously clueless as to where Ontinyent is. ‘We live in Denia and are going back to the UK to see family for Christmas.’ ‘That’s nice.’ Deb said with disinterest as neither of us like striking up conversations with fellow travellers, but the woman persisted. ‘What is in Ontinyent then?’ She said. ‘We have a house there.’ replied Deb.

You’re going back to the UK for Christmas as well then?’ She continued. ‘No,’ said Deb ‘we live in the UK but holiday in Ontinyent and will be retiring there in a couple of years.’

‘Take it from me, it will be nothing like a holiday when you live here.’ The lady said quite firmly. ‘We don’t expect it to be,’ replied Deb, ‘we just want to live a better and different quality of life in our retirement.’

The woman carried on, completely ignoring the irritated tone in Deb’s voice. ‘Your whole day will centre round cleaning your house as there is nothing else to do. You lie around in the sun on holiday now but you definitely won’t do that when you live here. The people around you become alcoholics because they have nothing to do except drink all day. Luckily I don’t drink so it won’t affect me.’ She was beginning to make me feel like I wanted a drink. ‘And if you’re coming here for health benefits due to the climate then you can forget that because it’s too humid.’

I turned and looked at her husband at this point, feeling really sorry for him and he looked back at me with that down trodden demeanour that only comes from years of constant nagging.

‘Thanks for the advice,’ said Deb, stunned, as the queue started to move forward. ‘Take it from me, it’s the truth,’ the woman persisted as I positioned myself between her and Deb. ‘You’ll remember these words in a few years when you move here and realise I’m right.’

I can see her bringing much Christmas cheer to her family this festive season.

And on that happy note I wish you all a very merry Christmas, happy New Year and a healthy and wealthy 2020.

5 thoughts on “Goodbye 2019. It’s Been a Great Year”

  1. Great blog rob . Hope you have a great Xmas . And hope you don’t bump into that woman again. I also have had to put up with a few like that this year moaning on about Brexit and how their healthcare etc is ruined and how their pensions aren’t worth as much due to exchange rate etc . In the end I advised them to perhaps move back to their flats in Burnley and Basildon !
    Merry Xmas !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started